SB 75, PN 41 (Greenleaf) – This bill amends the Crimes Code and the Judicial Code by extensively revising the law on human trafficking in the areas of prosecution, prevention, victim protection, and evidentiary confidentiality, limitation of actions and victim impact statements; and making editorial changes.  Senator Greenleaf offered amendment A04820, which makes several technical changes, provides a stricter definition of “human trafficking,” increases fines and penalties, increases training for emergency responders, and provides additional resources for assistance groups.  The amendment was agreed to and the bill went over in its order as amended.

SB 923, PN 1515 (Baker) – This bill preserves and expands the Military Family Relief Assistance Program (MFRAP), which will lose its primary source of funding at the end of 2013.  A vote of 48-0 was recorded.

SB 1077, PN 1582 (Argall) – This bill amends the “Scrap Material Theft Prevention Act” (Act 113 of 2008) to add to the list of restricted materials.  A vote of 48-0 was recorded.

HB 1225, PN 1832 (Ross) – This legislation provides that the Local Government Commission (LGC) may publish, maintain and update electronic copies of The Third Class City Code, The First Class Township Code, The Second Class Township Code, The County Code and The Borough Code, in addition to, or in lieu of, printed publication and distribution of the aforementioned codes, in accordance with the Local Government Commission Law.  A vote of 48-0 was recorded.

HB 1425, PN 2683 (Gillespie) – The bill creates the Higher Education Eligibility Act to recognize additional schools as education institutions by the Commonwealth.  A vote of 48-0 was recorded.

HB 1594, PN 2185 (Regan) – Amends the Crimes Code to increase penalties for luring a young child into a motor vehicle or structure.  A vote of 48-0 was recorded.

The Senate approved the following executive nominations by a vote of 48-0:

  • Tammy Gillette, State Board of Massage Therapy (new appointment)
  • Becky D. Lesik, LMT, State Board of Massage Therapy (reappointment)
  • Gary L. Coburn, State Board of Physical Therapy (reappointment)
  • Timothy M. Schell, PT, State Board of Physical Therapy (reappointment)